Amanda the Architect

documenting the projects and inspirations of an unemployed intern architect with some ambition and lots of time

It’s been a while…

A few weeks since a blog post is simply too long. And so many wonderful architecture things have happened in the past week! I will get to those posts shortly, but I first wanted to update you with a few wonderful resources/inspiration/links/events/pictures.

old house web is a wonderful, wonderful resource I am so very glad I  found. The site is filled with advice for house renovations and various tips for historic houses. I plan on referring to the site often when making renovations to our 1920’s house.

If I wasn’t already swamped from a bunch of little projects, I would love to enter The Sketchbook Project. Who knows, maybe I will change my mind by October and enter anyway.

FUSE is a really fun event coming up this Friday here in Vancouver. If your in the area, maybe I will see you there!

A local paper, The Georgia Straight, featured an article about architecture: Metropolitan Vancouver’s brave new architecture. I loved what Chris Macdonald had to say: “The post-Expo [’86] period of Vancouver architecture has been ‘more pedestrian’ on a building-by-building basis.” This is exactly what I have observed, just didn’t really know the “why”. He explains that the high cost of land is a big factor to the lack of variety and design risks.

As you can see, while reading the Straight, I also enjoyed some excellent espresso. It was my birthday, and I had been wanting to go to Milano for some time. They feature a variety of espressos, and we sampled three. Best espresso since Paris.

Things are getting busy around here, as our move date gets closer and closer. As I have not received any interest or job offers, we plan on moving back to our house in Missouri. My work permit has expired here in Canada, so it’s back to the States for work. After the move will come house renovation projects, drafting classes, more design competitions, and catching up with my Drury classmates.


Filed under: About, Inspirations, Projects

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

You can find Amanda other places online using the links below:

architecture by a...
