Amanda the Architect

documenting the projects and inspirations of an unemployed intern architect with some ambition and lots of time

Kitchen Inspirations

This past year working as a server/smoothie maker/cashier/bus-girl/dishwasher/raw chef (all at once!), I have had a chance to discover my interests outside the realm of design. Specifically preparing food. And eating it! Having a break from the design world was a nice change of pace, and one that was absolutely needed if not wanted. Today was my last day at my minimum-wage-with-tips food service job. I think it’s necessary to reflect on the past year and analyze the experience. Learning a bunch about food, I have nurtured my love of cuisine and now have a new hobby. Now to create a space where I can enjoy my new-found passion, and I will be in heaven. Right now my kitchen consists of a teeny-tiny space accented with black and red. Let’s just say I didn’t choose the apartment based on my love of cuisine.

So, with that long-winded introduction, I would like to show you a compilation of my favorite kitchens to date. When I am blessed with the opportunity to design my very own kitchen, I can refer to my collection of inspirations, some of which are posted here.

I love the eclectic mix all three kitchens have. The open feel and exposed history of the space make the kitchen one-of-a-kind and clean enough that I would love to make a mess in. The second bright kitchen is a down-to-earth room. You can tell everything was collected from different places/times, and it all simply comes together to create a lovely functional room (and the tiles are to die for!).  The last kitchen is simply my dream kitchen. I mean, take the massive window, sink, and island with the white/black/wood finishes and I am in love!

Click on the images for more information.

Filed under: Inspirations, , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. jessieabloom says:

    I love how none of your dream kitchens have above-the-counter enclosed cabinetry. They always make a kitchen feel so heavy and oppressive to me – these (especially the first and last) seem much more open and relaxed.

  2. Oisin says:

    I come from a family of doctors on one side, architects on the other. I sometimes wish I’d gone either way. I’d like to have a house some day designed from the bottom up and inside out to my own specifications and according to my own ideas. In it, I may well wish to have kitchen number 1, above. 🙂

    Btw, well done on the blog. It looks good!

  3. Caitlin says:

    These are cool Amanda! I love how bright and airy the first one feels, and the tiles on the floor in the second one are awesome, like you said. I also like how the first and 3rd one use the warmth of wood to contrast with the white. Either way, you can’t go wrong!

  4. cindy shannon says:

    You can design my kitchen any time 🙂 Love the top 2!!

  5. Thanks, everyone, for the feedback! Glad you enjoyed the kitchens as well. There will be more to come.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

You can find Amanda other places online using the links below:

architecture by a...
