Amanda the Architect

documenting the projects and inspirations of an unemployed intern architect with some ambition and lots of time

Something New

Last week was no fun. Hope and positive looks to the future were gone. Job boards were bleak, no responses from any place I applied (just 12 firms, and posted my resume/portfolio online everywhere). Where was I going to be in the next few months? It seemed my future was open to so many options, but the doors I wanted to enter were closed.

What do I want to do? Design! Well, I figured out all by myself 😉 that I can do that without a “boss” or a “project” assigned to me. I can challenge myself. I have so many Projects now to get started on, and many resources to help along the way. What are these mystery projects, you say?

Project #1: This wonderful, new blog! I now have a place to share my opinions, post inspirations, and work through design problems. I hope you will join in on the conversation.

Project #2: Socio Design Foundation‘s 2010 Monthly Vignette Competition ($15 each, $100 prize each month)

  • June – Imprinting Time on Architecture
  • July – 1,000 Year Space: Designing to Last through the Next Civilization
  • August – Walking Towards: Respite along a Pilgrimage
  • September – The New Bank: After the Great Recession
  • October – Walls for the Lonely
  • November – Between Countries: Immigration Center
  • December – Recording Memories

Project #3: Renovating a house in a low-income area in Springfield, Missouri. This project will include landscape design, hiring contractors, design/build, involving the Springfield community, applying for grants/tax credits, and recording everything here as well. I want to keep the design and construction world an open book.

These three Projects are probably enough to keep me busy for a while!

Feel free to scroll down to read the introduction to my spankin’ brand new blog. Thanks for stopping by, subscribing, and/or leaving a comment!

Filed under: Projects, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

You can find Amanda other places online using the links below:

architecture by a...
